Tom DeLonge Reveals He Never Expected to 'Play Music' or 'Tour Again' amid 'One More Time…' Album Announce

Blink-182's Mark Hoppus, Travis Barker and Tom DeLonge have moved past the small (and big things) to release their first album together since 2011's Neighborhoods.

Tom DeLonge Reveals He Never Expected to 'Play Music' or 'Tour Again' amid 'One More Time…' Album Announce
Life Style

On Monday, the pop-punk trio announced their new album One More Time..., due Oct. 20 via Columbia Records alongside a four-minute trailer that features a preview of three new songs and candid footage from the group's forthcoming interview with Apple Music's Zane Lowe.

In the visual, Blink-182 discusses their individual hardships, what drove them apart and what reunited them.

Lowe addresses DeLonge's departure from the band in 2015 head-on saying that many people thought he left the band "to become professionally crazy."

"I found myself in these weird oceans that I definitely didn't know how to navigate," vocalist/guitarist DeLonge, 47, tells Lowe. "I definitely didn't want to hold these guys back in any kind of way."

"We're like, 'f--- Tom DeLonge. If he doesn't like Blink, then f--- it,'" Hoppus, 51, recalls.

DeLonge adds, "I remember telling my wife now, like, well I don't think I'm ever going to play music again. I don't think I'm ever going to tour again, until Mark told me he was sick, and then that was the only thing I wanted to do."

Hoppus then went onto explain how he was "a hollow shell" when he was diagnosed with stage 4 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma in April 2021, and chemotherapy damaged his vocal chords.

“Chemotherapy wrecked my vocal cords,” the bassist/vocalist reveals. “I had to go to work with a vocal coach to get to the point where we could go and walk onstage at Coachella [in April].

Mark Hoppus, Travis Barker and Tom DeLonge of Blink-182 perform at The FLA Live Arena, Sunrise, Florida, USA

Barker, 47, who survived a plane crash in 2008 that made him fear flying, discusses the meaning of the band's title track "One More Time" and the tragic circumstances that have reunited them.

“Why does it take these catastrophes, like me being in a plane crash or me being sick, for our band to get back together?” he wonders in the video.

"I always knew that the brotherhood wouldn't ever deteriorate or wouldn't be there," the drummer concludes. "I really feel like Blink is us three, and as soon as we accept that and we don't settle for anything less than that, I just think that's the future."

On Thursday, Sept. 21, the full interview with Lowe will be released alongside "One More Time" and its corresponding video.

A press release reveals One More Time... was produced by Barker and captures "the band at the top of their game, layering in themes of tragedy, triumph, and most importantly, brotherhood."

Blink-182 united for the first time since 2015 to perform at Coachella in April, kicking off their World Tour May 4. While they had to postpone some dates after Barker's wife Kourtney Kardashian had to undergo "a life-threatening emergency surgery," the band will be on the road through April 6, 2024.

See below for the full tracklist.

  1. "Anthem Part 3"
  2. "Dance with Me"
  3. "Fell in Love"
  4. "Terrified"
  5. "One More Time"
  6. "More Than You Know"
  7. "Turn This Off!"
  8. "When We Were Young"
  9. "Edging"
  10. "You Don't Know What You've Got"
  11. "Blink Wave"
  12. "Bad News"
  13. "Hurt (Interlude)"
  14. "Turpentine"
  15. "F--- Face"
  16. "Other Side"
  17. "Childhood"